Support forums : You can see the bug

Image Error

A red message that stops the whole page from loading; a full page, but a message that looks like it came from the server; a red box with red text that we made: All of these are bugs you can see, so report them here. kthxbai :)

Moderator: Dracones

Forum rules
Can you copy/paste the error message, or do a screenshot that shows what is wrong? If not maybe you've got a "you can sense it" bug.

Image Error

Postby edoc7 » Wed May 30, 2012 6:44 pm

I had trouble getting image or link to work for some reason so I cut & pasted and edited the code from another post to embed an image in my blog post.

See here:

[url]
http://kd4e.com/quam-plures/blog1.php[/url]

The thing is that the image is not sized or centered correctly.

I was getting errors when I tried to hardcode HTML for height and width.

How do I manually resolve this, please?

Where do I look for the cause of img and URL refusing to work?

Thanks!
edoc7
User avatar
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 2:55 am

Re: Image Error

Postby EdB » Sat Jun 02, 2012 12:20 pm

Automatic image resizing only works when you "attach" the image - not when you use an IMG tag. So you have 3 ways to resolve this issue. One is to remove the IMG tag and attach the image to the post, but that will mean the image is on top of all the text instead of being where you want it. Another is to resize the image on your computer then upload it, then put that image in the IMG tag. Third, and least desirable, is to force the width and height in your IMG tag ... like so:
Code: Select all
<img src="whatever" width="400" height="300" />
EdB
Dracone
User avatar
 
Posts: 2072
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 7:20 am
Location: Maricopa Arizona

Re: Image Error

Postby edoc7 » Sun Jun 03, 2012 4:09 am

I wish I knew why the internal image handling failed - it simply did not respond - neither did linking.

I also don't know why my effort to use the width & height tags failed when I tried them but will again.

Thanks!
edoc7
User avatar
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 2:55 am

Re: Image Error

Postby Kimberly » Tue Jun 12, 2012 2:50 am

The best way of course is to spend the time resizing the image to fit your theme. That way, it does not take up any more room than necessary on the server. Normally the way I work is to use the upload section of the file manager and then use the file manager to generate and insert the image code. To position the image on the page; say to centre a 300 pixel wide image on a 600 pixel wide content area, you would use css. You can add the css to your theme css so that it is automatically added when you insert the code. Ed spend some time working on inserting images from the file manager to make this an easy thing. To do it manually, insert a style statement inside of the image tag <img style="width:300pixels;margin-left:auto;margin-right:auto;" URL to the image />
Kimberly
Dracone
User avatar
 
Posts: 842
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 4:44 pm


Return to You can see the bug

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron